A Career Built on Looking Beyond the Surface

This week is Lettuce Entertain You Enterprise’s  40th anniversary, and when you think of how quickly restaurant concepts come and go, such longevity is truly amazing.

I joined the company 26 years ago at 18 when I was just starting college. I had graduated with a psychology and sociology degree but had so much fun in the restaurants with the customers, fellow employees and managers that I asked to pursue management. At that time, I was a young punk rocker with either blue, blond or red streaked hair, earrings (in the early 80s that was revolutionary) and crazy clothes  but the leaders of LEYE looked beyond appearances and gave me a chance.

I grew from host to officer manager, manager, to general manager and then supervisor.  At  28,  I became an LEYE  partner. It’s the  only company I’ve worked for and that really is something when the average person changes jobs
every four or so years, according to the U.S.Bureau of Labor Statistics.

LEYE has many strengths, but one that stands out for me is the small company mindset even as the company has grown tremendously over four decades. The partners all stilll talk, often daily. Ideas are tested rapidly with out fear or research committees and if we are wrong we move quickly to correct the problem.

I’m truly blessed to have found LEYE, thanks to a reference from my
older sister, and appreciate all that the company has provided for me and my family. I look forward to helping LEYE continue for 40 more years!

Leave a comment